City Council

Mayor Christina M. Smith and 8 city councillors, each representing one of the city’s 8 wards, form the council of the City of Westmount. The council is the main governing and legislative body for the city.

The Mayor and Councillors also sit on various standing committees and municipal organizations.

Click on the black dots on the map to view the ward and its councillor.

Click to view the larger version:

Council members

Christina M. Smith

Mayor of Westmount
Mayor Christina M. Smith was first elected as City Councillor in 2013 and as Mayor of the City of Westmount in 2017.

Christina M. Smith was elected to Westmount City Council on November 3, 2013 as the Councillor for District 5, she is also the Commissioner of Administration committee.

Prior to entering municipal politics Christina was the Director of Industry and Government Affairs for Coca-Cola. Christina was also the Policy Advisor to the Federal Minister of Intergovernmental Affairs. Involved in many community organizations Christina believes in civic engagement to ensure our community is one where all residents benefit from our many programs and services.

Christina has a Bachelor of Political Science from Bishop’s University. Christina and her husband have three young children who enjoy many of Westmount’s sports programs and activities.

Anitra Bostock

Philip A. Cutler

Philip A. Cutler was elected to Westmount City Council on November 3, 2013.

Mr. Cutler, who has resided in Westmount since birth, attended Roslyn and Selwyn House schools, followed by John Abbott College. Holder of a Bachelor of Education (B. Ed) from McGill University, he was a member of the university senate and linebacker on the Redmen football team.

Mr. Cutler is the founder and president of Laurus Educational Services, a national tutoring service, and the founder and CEO of the Laurus Summer Camp. Education, sports and recreation, technology and business are Mr. Cutler’s main areas of experience.

During his first term, Mr. Cutler hopes to help promote healthy lifestyles and improve technology throughout the city; he also wants to ensure that taxpayers’ money is used to provide them with the best possible services.

Jeff J. Shamie

Conrad Peart

Marina Brzeski

Mary Gallery

Cynthia Lulham

Cynthia Lulham was first elected to Westmount City Council in 1995 and has represented District 7 for 18 years. For the last 8 years she was the Commissioner of Urban Planning, Parks and Green Spaces. Previously, she was the Commissioner of Recreation and Culture for ten years. Cynthia is committed to protecting the diversity and historic integrity of the City’s built environment, parks and green spaces and improving Westmount’s environmental programs.

First elected on a platform of “building community” Cynthia chaired the Victoria Hall renovation program that included the building of the Gallery and the creation of the Community Events Committee, as well as the Community Events Department. She was the co-chair of the Westmount Demerger Committee and is committed to serving the needs of the residents of Westmount.

Cynthia was a member of the Federation of Canadian Municipalities (FCM) Transportation Committee for 5 years and the vice-chair of the FCM’s Quebec Caucus in 2006.

She was the FCM co-chair of the Proximity Initiative Steering Committee when it was created in 2003 and has been the Proximity Initiative Project Manager since 2007. She works with senior railway representatives and elected municipal representatives, from across the country, organizing and guiding their partnership in order to develop solutions to rail proximity issues.

Kathleen Kez